HEEP Student Paper Prize 2016-2017

March 20, 2017
lake landscape

The Harvard Environmental Economics Program will award three prizes in May 2017 for the best research papers addressing topics in environmental, energy, and natural-resource economics:

Enel Endowment Prize for best undergraduate paper or senior thesis: $1,000

Mossavar-Rahmani Center Prize for best masters student paper: $1,500

Ana Aguado* Prize for the best paper by a doctoral student: $2,000

Following are the rules for authorship of submitted papers:

  • Submitted papers and theses must have been completed during the 2016-2017 academic year.
  • Co-authored papers are acceptable, as long as all authors are students, whether at Harvard or elsewhere.
  • At least one author must be a qualified Harvard student.
  • Papers co-authored with non-students (faculty members, consultants, outside researchers, etc.) are not allowed.
  • Competitions for the masters and doctoral student prizes are open to students in any of Harvard’s schools.
  • Individual students may appear as an author for only one submitted paper.

Important dates and guidelines for submission:

  • The deadline for receipt of submissions is Wednesday, May 3, 2017, 4:00 pm. In the interest of fairness, there will be no exceptions with regard to the deadline.
  • Please submit paper and C.V. in electronic form to Bryan Galcik, Communications Coordinator for the Harvard Environmental Economics Program: Bryan_Galcik@hks.harvard.edu
  • Winners will be announced by Wednesday, May 17, 2017.

Regarding the prize:

  • Submitted papers will be reviewed—and the winners chosen—by a specially appointed faculty committee.
  • If a submitted paper is co-authored by two or more students in the same prize category, then each of these students will be acknowledged as a prize winner.
  • The monetary award will be presented to only one student—the student submitting the paper by email—regardless of co-authorship (if any). The recipient of the monetary award is free to distribute it as he or she wishes.
  • It is assumed that submitted papers will have been prepared for other purposes (classes, publication, job market, etc.). It is not required or expected that students prepare papers specifically in consideration of the prizes.
  • The Harvard Environmental Economics Program may ask prize-winning authors if the Program may release their papers as part of its Discussion Paper series.


*Before passing away in October 2016, Ana Aguado was a leader in the energy policy and business communities for twenty years. She was Secretary General of the European Distribution System Operators’ Association for Smart Grids from 2014 to 2016. Before holding that post, Ms. Aguado was Chief Executive Officer of Friends of the Supergrid, dedicated to building an integrated power grid in Europe.

See also: 2017